Saturday, July 3, 2010

Trivia on Noynoy, The New RP President

From the time Congress proclaims a candidate as the duly-elected president, the candidate becomes known as the President-elect. In terms of protocol, a president-elect becomes Number Two in the hierarchy of officials, entitled to all official courtesies of an incumbent president, upon his proclamation as such by the Congress of the Philippines.

The Constitution is clear and specific: The title of the chief executive is “President of the Philippines,” and
takes his oath of office as such, although in certain cases involving formal diplomatic usage, “President of the Republic of the Philippines” is used for diplomatic documents. The honorific for the President of the Philippines is “His/Your Excellency,” but the proper form of address is “Mr. President.” At 42.08% Aquino’s percentage of the votes is the highest plurality since the restoration of democracy, and under the 1987 Constitution. The biggest first-term landslide was Magsaysay in 1953 (68.9%), followed by Quezon in 1935. The biggest second term landslide was Quezon in 1941 (81.78%) followed by Marcos in 1969 (61.5%).

Some relevant numbers:
1. He is the first unmarried president in the history of the country.

He is the first president with no children.

The first
deputy speaker of the House to later become president.

He is the first marksman to become president since Ferdinand Marcos (who belonged to the U.P. rifle team).

He will be the first president since 1992 inaugurated into office without having been vice-president first.

He is the first president since Diosdado Macapagal to be
elected as the candidate of the Liberal Party; also the first president since Macapagal not to have changed political parties (three presidents had no political party membership/positions: Aguinaldo, Laurel, Cory Aquino).

Aquino is the first post-Edsa president to exceed Garcia’s 1957 plurality. Majority Presidents: Quezon (68% in 1935 and 81.78% in 1941),
Roxas 54% in 1946,
Quirino (51% in 1949),
Magsaysay (68.9% in 1953),
Macapagal (55% in 1961),
Marcos (54.76% in 1965, 61.5% in 1969),
Aquino (approx. 51%).
Plurality Presidents: Garcia (41.3%) was the only president elected by plurality prior to 1972.
The lowest plurality ever was Fidel V. Ramos in 1992 (23.6%).
Estrada at 39.6% in 1998 was the first post-Edsa president to nearly match Garcia’s 1957 plurality.

He is the first to use the suffix -III (there have been no Juniors or the Thirds elected president previously).

He is the first president to have a February birthday. Two presidents were born in January: Roxas (January 1), Cory Aquino (January 25); three in March: Laurel (March 9), Ramos (March 18), Aguinaldo (March 22); two in April: Arroyo (April 5), Estrada (Aprril 19); two in August: Quezon (August 19), Magsaysay (August 31); three in September: Osmeña (September 9), Marcos (September 11), Macapagal (September 28); two in November: Garcia (November 4), Quirino (November 16).

The President of the Philippines uses license plate No. 1.

2. The second child of a former president to become president in his own right (he succeeds the first presidential child to become president).

The second president from Tarlac.

He is only the second president (Aguinaldo was the only non-drinker previously) who does not drink.

He will be the second president to be sworn in by a Filipino associate justice of the Supreme Court (his mother was the first), but the fourth president sworn in by an associate justice of a Supreme Court (Quezon in 1943 for the indefinite extension of his term, and Osmeña who succeeded into office in 1944, were sworn in by U.S. Associate Justices Felix Frankfurter and Robert H. Jackson, respectively, in Washington, D.C.).

He is the second president to have studied at the Ateneo de Manila, but the first to have graduated from the Ateneo de Manila University.

Two presidents only partially resided in Malacañang Palace: Laurel, and Estrada (who stayed in the Guest House).

Two presidents were elected by the legislature and not in a national election: Aguinaldo and Laurel.

Two presidents were re-elected to second terms: Quezon and Marcos.

Two presidents were brought to power by People Power revolts: Corazon Aquino and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (our two female presidents).
Courtesy of the Explainer, Manuel L. Quezon III


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...